Week in Review 8.11.14 to 8.17.14

Late getting this out because we were up at Derby House this weekend! The team is still there through Wednesday but I had to leave paradise to come back to start my second year. Sigh. The next two weeks is Orthopedics, however, so I’m at least inherently interested in the topic.

I had another solid week of training and feel like I clicked up another level in fitness. This coming week is an adaptation week even though I’ve only had two weeks of “up” mileage because I need to make sure my “final” taper is perfect. Ah! It’s amazing to be talking about taper already…

Monday: 9.6 miles easy

Tuesday: Shake It Out Fartlek for a total of 10.1 miles.

Wednesday: Scheduled off day, prorated 9.5 miles.

Thursday: 10.8 mile recovery run.

Friday: 20.4 mile long run.

Saturday: 7.5 mile hill work with the team. 8 reps at varying paces, two of which were soul crushing to try to beat the boys.

Sunday AM: 7.2 mile easy run with the girls.

Sunday PM: 3 mile run.

Total Miles: 78 miles

My biggest anxiety for this week is remembering how to balance school, running, coaching and family. An adaptation week will help, as will my team being gone (sob) until Friday.

 

9 Comments

  1. In your weekly recaps I’ve noticed you have a lot “rest day, prorated at X miles”. What exactly does that mean? You just didn’t feel like taking the day off and did some miles?
    At the mileage you put in I am scared to think about what you spend on sneakers. I hate dropping $100+ every 3ish months on sneakers. You must be doing that at least monthly.

    • Actually it’s a common method of making sure your daily volume is correct, which is what matters physiologically. In a full volume week, I run 10.2 miles a day. In an adaptation week, I run 8.3. When I prorate an off day, I need to know how to distribute the miles. Interesting that you only used initials. Care to actually own your snarky comment?

Leave a comment