A Graduation Day, Of Sorts

States 2011

States 2011. It was frigid and I wore all of the layers.

In some ways, this weekend will be a graduation day for me. Tomorrow marks the 4th time I’ve gone back to Thetford as a coach. It marks the first full class that I’ve coached from Freshman to Senior year.

When I first met this bunch of freshman, they were overwhelming. There are a LOT of them and they were not your typical freshman, just quietly trying to fit in. From the very first practice on my very first day to Tuesday of this week where I implored them for some silence, they have been a joyful, energetic, boundlessly enthusiastic bunch.

Awkwardness has happened over the years.

Awkwardness has happened over the years.

But (and they'll be the first to tell you this) they are basically responsible for my marriage.

But (and they’ll be the first to tell you this) they are basically responsible for my marriage.

I'm going to miss this bunch enormously.

I’m going to miss this bunch enormously.

Yes, even you boys.

Yes, even you boys.

So to the first class to go through high school with me (survive me? I’m not sure), I am so proud of who you are as runners and more importantly as people. Have a great day tomorrow! All of the prouds.

Leave a comment